Wednesday, 26 September 2012

Arik Air Bars 27 People including Japheth Omojuwa & FAAN MD From Flying On Its Aircrafts

By Adeola Adeyemo Japheth Omojuwa, a social media activist with a huge online following brewed up quite a storm when he took to Twitter and his website, some weeks ago to publicize how his iPad got missing on an Arik-Air flight.
With hash tags like #Arikaircriminals and #ArikWhereIsMyiPad, he made his grievance with the airline public.
Little wonder he was one of the people barred from flying on the airline.
Arik Air recently released a list of people barred from flying on any of its aircrafts for both domestic and international flights.
According to the airline, Japheth was barred “for giving Arik negative publicity on social media after losing his iPad on the airlines flight in June this year”.
Another prominent name on the list was the Managing Director of Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria, FAAN, Mr George Uriesi. The reason given for Mr. Uriesi’s blacklisting was simply explained as “management decision.”
There are speculations that the decision might not be unconnected with the ongoing battle between the airline and FAAN. FAAN had earlier accused the airline of owing it over N7 billion, an amount which was defiantly denied. Arik Air insisted that it had been paying the Authority and only owed it over N1 billion.
According to Vanguard, the reasons given for the ban range from fighting Arik staff, disrupting Arik flight operations, to being declared wanted by security agencies.
The list which was last updated on September 24, 2012 said all those listed are banned ‘permanently’ from flying on Arik Air.
iREPORTS-NG lists the names of some of those barred from the airline and the reasons for the decision:
Omojuwa Japheth (for giving Arik negative publicity on social media after losing his iPad on the airlines flight in June this year) ; Messrs Victor-Ogbondah Elo,Lawal Lateef and Obayomi Osoba ( for insulting Arik staff); Obiriki James; Guanah Raymos; Messrs Moulim Buobacal, Muossa Baba and Al- Laranma Ibrahim( Somalians for terrorism); Warsame Ahmed Adbukadir, a Somalian for terrorism; Abdel Rahman Wala Eldin, a Sudanese for terrorism; Mohammed Murtada Awad Allad Ahmad, a Sudanese for terrorism; Bakare Lanre (former Arik employee over alleged bank fraud); Miss Davies- Fasan Adesola (for fighting with an Arik staff); Mrs Ejilasisi Kudirat Abike; Mr Musa Azeez Arisekola; Mr Adesugba Sijuade Adekoya; Oluseye Yakubu Idowu; Olomiwe Peter Chukwu; Nwachukwu Austin; Messrs Orji Daniel Ikechukwu and Uzoh Himan (over fraud in SA); Adesanya David; Ikukoyi Olufemi Olukay; and Grace Ikiruka Guobadia.
Be Sociable, Share!

No comments:

Post a Comment